Friday Night Film with Norman Reedus – Gossip

The second most reccommended film starring Norman Reedus to me was Gossip (2000) which follows a group of student friends who decide to test the power of hearsay and rumour on campus for a class project. There are many layers to this story all equally fascinating and it was very interesting watching them unfold. For me the best part of the film was trying to work out the truth. Everytime I was sure I had figured out what was actually going on something happend that made me question it all casuing me to rethink everything seen and heard up until that point.

mv5bmtyyotqxnjcyml5bml5banbnxkftztywotixndg4-_v1_

The nature of the film is very intriguing and something I find very interesting, the notion of people watching and pyschology. I found myself immersed in thoughts of what I’d do in a similar situation, who i’d believe, what action i’d take which quite possibly distracted me from the film as I had no complaints or issues with what I watched although I have since read quite a few negative reviews that particularly comment on the pace and performance. If it’s not a subject matter you enjoy you might find the film quite dull and scrutinise the actors performances more. Mostly I found myself wishing I had watched this film at school or university where there would have been the forum for debate on the issues raised within the film such as the larger consequences of small actions, conscience and moral grey areas as what impact the difference in characters has on interpreting their actions and credibility. In fact in light of recent news stories such as the Stanford rapist more schools could do with watching this film and discussing the themes within it with their students.

Overall I would reccommend watching it, maybe not rushing out and buying it specially but if it’s on TV or you see it in passing (I found it in a second hand DVD store for 50p) it’s definitely worth seeing. Norman is brilliant as the shy, artsy Travis and his performance is matched by those in the film with him (yes that’s the woman who plays Cersei Lannister and the guy who was in Dawson’s Creek). It is a film with a very different feel to it compared to Six Ways to Sunday and Dark Harbour, they seemed edgier and more out there compared to Gossip which feels realtively safe and more mainstream Hollywood. I got the sense it was a film primairly aimed at teens, the sort of thing I would have watched at a friend’s sleepover when at school.

Leave a Reply

